The Josephine Bonaparte Trilogy by Sandra Gulland


Titles:  The Many Lives and Secret Sorrows of Josephine Bonaparte, Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe and The Last Great Dance on Earth.

Author:  Sandra Gulland

Published by Harper Collins Publishers, Inc.

Backup References: Goodreads, Amazon

Theme: Historical Novel

Mesmerizing Trilogy. Written in the form of fictional diaries, Sandra Gulland manages to enthral the reader throughout three difficult-to-put-down books. From a feminine perspective, she starts by describing Rose’s (Josephine) as a young girl in Martinica and takes you from her somewhat humble roots to her acquiring grace, elegance and diplomatic skills, her unhappy first marriage, the joy of having two children, her suffering during the Terror, her lovers, her agreeing to marry the “rude Corsican”, the intimacy inside their bedroom, Napoleon’s rise to power, their learning royal protocol, the complexities of war, politics, endless intrigues, betrayal, his exile and her death.

Credible. Extremely well researched. Fast paced. Three page turning history novels worth cherishing.

Review by Carmen I. González aka Valentina Miri

4 thoughts on “The Josephine Bonaparte Trilogy by Sandra Gulland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s