There’re two sides to every story: Why the DR refuses to merge with Haiti

Our struggle is overwhelming enough for Fox News to indulge and assume they can solve Haiti’s misery by enforcing and pay away a merge that would only result in tragedy amongst our people. We, Dominicans, do not dictate or suggest how to solve USA’s migration issues or any other internal affairs’ dilemma whatsoever! Hence, MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS.

This open letter is a response to an article instigating the merger of the Dominican Republic and Haiti. I want to make it very clear that the purpose of this letter is to defend my country’s sovereignty and independence.

Dear Mr. Rodriguez,

I recently read your article ‘Haiti should merge with the Dominican Republic’ on the Fox News webpage.  Meanwhile I agree that Haiti is a country that needs guidance and help from the International community, I firmly believe that merging my nation, the Dominican Republic, with Haiti will never be a solution to the issue. It worries me that a lot of people will start supporting your beliefs just because they read it on Fox News. I saw the article on Facebook and I’m telling you Dominicans are outraged.

First of all, I would like to tell you that the Dominican Republic has its own struggles. Since you claim in your…

View original post 1,195 more words

Leave a Reply

